Director: Dr. Jitendra Kumar

Director, At DMAPR: Since 2014

Dr. Jitendra Kumar (b. 24 June, 1963) is Director, Directorate of Medicinal and Aromatic Plant Research, Boriavi, Anand, Gujarat, India. Before present assignment, he served as Professor & Principal Scientist, Division of Agricultural Chemicals, India Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi. He obtained his Ph D degree in Agricultural chemicals from IARI in 1994 and has since then held various scientific positions at the Division, specializing in agrochemical formulation. He did his postdoctoral on process development for extraction of artemisinin from Artemisia annua at Biological Chemistry Division, Rothamsted Research, UK.Dr Jitendra Kumar has made significant contribution in the area of agrochemical formulations, botanicals and Nanotechnology. His work has led to the development of several patented technologies. A process for preparation of Azadirachtin concentrates developed by him is in commercialization and has earned, besides the premium, royalty for the full term of ten years. Three more companies have been licensed with this technology along with another process for making its liquid pesticidal concentrates and are in the process of their further commercialization. In 2012, three nano formulations of azadirachtin, imidacloprid, and carbofuran and preparation of self assembled polymeric nanomaterials developed by him have also been released to industry. Controlled release formulations of natural and synthetic pesticides, particularly the botanical based seed coats have been released by the Institute to National Research Development Corporation (NRDC) for their possible commercialization.

He has over 350 scientific publications including 13 patents / patent applications, 115 research papers and 09 books. He has guided 5 Ph D and 3 MSc students at the Post Graduate School, IARI, New Delhi.

Dr. Jitendra Kumar is the receipient of several awards and recognitions. ICFRE Neem Award, 1996; NATP-World Bank Fellowship, Michigan State University, USA, 2000; SPPS Meritorious Scientist Award, 2003; INSA-Royal Society Bilateral Exchange Fellowship, Rothamsted Research, UK, 2004; Dr Ram Nath Singh Award 2006; Affiliated member of International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, North Carolina, USA, 2008 ; Convener of IUPAC sponsored First & Second International Conference on Agrochemical Protecting Crop, Health and Natural Environment, 2008 and 2012, New Delhi; Joint Secretary, 1999-2002; Treasurer, 2002-2005 and General Secretary, 2005-2009, Society of Pesticide Science, India; NRDC Meritorious Innovation Award, 2010; Member, Academic council, Post Gradtuate School, IARI, 2010-14; SPPS Outstanding Scientist Award, 2013; Member, Board of Management, Junagadh Agricultural University, Junagadh, Gujarat, 2014; President, Medicinal and Aromatic Plants Association of India, Anand, Gujarat 2014-till date; Member, Research Advisory Committee of National Research Center on Seed Spices, Ajmer. Chairman, FAD-26 (Bureau of Indian Standards); Elected fellow of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS), 2015. Read more about the E publications and Anual Report.

Scientific Staff of DMAPR, Boriavi, Anand, Gujarat

Name Discipline Designation
Dr.P.Manivel Plant Breeding Principal Scientist
Dr.Satyanshu Kumar Organic Chemistry Principal Scientist
Dr.Geetha K.A. Plant Breeding Principal Scientist
Dr. Narendra Gajbhiye Organic Chemistry Senior Scientist
Dr. P.L. Saran Horticulture Senior Scientist
Dr. R. Nagaraja Reddy Plant Breeding Scientist Sr.Scale
Dr. Raghuraj Singh Farm Machinary & Power Scientist
Dr. Biraj Bandhu Basak Soil Science Scientist
Dr. Ram Prasnna Meena Plant Pathology Scientist
Dr. K.A.Kalariya Plant Physiology Scientist
Dr. Ajoy Saha Agril. Chemistry Scientist
Dr. Thondaiman V. Spices Plant & Medicinal and Aromatic Plants Scientist
Dr. Hemlata Bharti Spices Plant & Medicinal and Aromatic Plants Scientist
Mr. Akula Chinapolaiah Spices Plant & Medicinal and Aromatic Plants Scientist
Mr.Manish Kumar Mittal Economic Botany& Plant Genetic Resources Scientist
Mr.Prince Choyal Plant Physiology Scientist
Dr. Manish Kumar Suthar Ag. Biotechnology Scientist